Blue Sky MD review: price, pros & cons
A physician-led North Carolina weight-loss and hormone practice, founded in 2008, with seven clinics and telehealth visits; GLP-1s come inside its medical weight-loss program, with weekly coaching and lab testing, and insurance is billed where it applies.
- Scores never bought
- 599 providers tracked
- Every factor auditable
Blue Sky MD is a physician-led weight-loss and hormone practice that has served North Carolina since 2008, with seven clinics and telehealth visits.
- Semaglutide
- Not disclosed
- Tirzepatide
- Not disclosed
- Coverage
- 1 state (North Carolina)
- Brand-name
- Yes
- Oral option
- Not listed
- Verification
- LegitScript-certified
Best for: North Carolina residents who want a hands-on medical program with labs, weekly coaching and in-person visits, and who may be able to use insurance.
MatchScript's take: A thorough, coaching-heavy program for North Carolina residents, but you join the whole program to get a GLP-1 and its monthly cost is not published.
The factor breakdown
Blue Sky MD on the six Match Score factors — the same sub-scores the quiz reweights to your priorities. See the methodology.
No all-in monthly price is published, only weekly medication figures inside a program whose fee is not listed, so Budget Fit holds at the unpriced default of 48.
North Carolina only, and a consultation plus lab work come before a prescription; medication then ships in 3–5 business days.
Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, plus brand-name Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro.
Physicians, nurse practitioners, dietitians and weekly one-on-one coaching, with repeat labs.
GLP-1s come only inside the full program, and the program's cancellation terms are not published.
The founder, clinics and program contents are published; the monthly cost and the program fee are not.
Pricing in context
How Blue Sky MD's monthly price sits against the category median and the cheapest provider we track.
| Monthly price | Semaglutide | Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| Blue Sky MDthis providerVisit | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Category median240 tracked | $190/mo | $259/mo |
| Cheapest trackedMondaeVisit | $87/mo | $126/mo |
For a fair comparison, check the full cost of semaglutide or tirzepatide, including care fees, dose changes and the amount due at each renewal.
What we found on their site
Read on Blue Sky MD's own website in October 2026. Quoted text is theirs.
- The GLP-1 page lists "Tirzepatide - $60/week in-office" and "Semaglutide - $40/week in-office", with the footnote "Must be enrolled in our medical weight loss program to qualify for GLP-1 weight loss medication".
- It describes the program as including "Weekly 1-on-1 coaching" through "our Blue Sky MD nutrition app".
- The medical weight-loss page says "we run an advanced panel of 20+ biomarkers and directly measure your resting metabolism" before recommending anything.
What we like
- Weekly one-on-one coaching through its own nutrition app, plus physicians, nurse practitioners and dietitians on staff
- Starts with an advanced lab panel of 20+ biomarkers and a measured resting metabolism, with labs repeated as you progress
- Bills primary insurance as a primary care practice, and accepts HSA and FSA for self-pay
- Offers compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as well as brand-name Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro
- Seven North Carolina clinics plus telehealth visits, led by its named founder and medical director, Dr. David LaMond
The caveats
- Serves North Carolina only
- No monthly price is published: the site quotes compounded semaglutide "as low as" $40 a week and tirzepatide $60 a week in-office, and the program fee itself is not listed
- You must enroll in the full medical weight-loss program to get GLP-1 medication; a medication-only prescription is not offered
- Getting started means a consultation and lab work before any prescription, so it is slower than online-only services
- Cancellation terms for the program are not published
Blue Sky MDCheck the current price and eligibility on their site.
Visit Blue Sky MDWho it's for — and who should skip it
Blue Sky MD is for north Carolina residents who want a hands-on medical program with labs, weekly coaching and in-person visits, and who may be able to use insurance.
Skip it if that doesn't sound like you. A closer fit may be SkinnyRx (Match Score 64) — or take the quiz to see where Blue Sky MD lands for your priorities.
Before you choose care
What semaglutide costs. Compare medication costs, ongoing fees and prepaid plans before choosing care.
What tirzepatide costs. See how dose, medication type and billing terms affect the total price.
Insurance and GLP-1 coverage. Check benefits, prior authorization and medication costs separately from care fees.
Compounded vs. brand-name GLP-1s. Learn how approval, evidence and pharmacy oversight differ between these options.
How it compares to CoreAge Rx & the closest scorer
Blue Sky MD against CoreAge Rx and the provider that scores closest to it. Green marks the row leader.
| How it compares | Blue Sky MDthis provider | CoreAge Rxfeatured | Vaylenclosest scorer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sema price | Not disclosed | $99/mo at every dose | Not disclosed |
| Coverage | 1 state (North Carolina) | U.S. only — restrictions vary by state and therapy, list not published | All 50 states |
| Formulary | Injectable + brand | Injectable | Injectable + oral |
| Match Score | 63 · C | 91 · A− | 63 · C |
Blue Sky MD, answered
Is Blue Sky MD legit?
Yes — Blue Sky MD is LegitScript-certified, a third-party check that a telehealth pharmacy operates within the rules. It doesn't publish whether it dispenses compounded or brand-name medication, so ask which one you're being prescribed; confirm your prescriber is US-licensed at intake.
How much does Blue Sky MD cost?
Blue Sky MD doesn't publish a clear compounded-semaglutide price up front. You'll typically see full pricing after the intake questionnaire. Get the all-in monthly number in writing before you pay.
Does Blue Sky MD ship to my state?
Only if you're in its single licensed state (1 state (North Carolina)). Anywhere else you'll need a nationwide provider instead.
Blue Sky MD vs SkinnyRx — which should I pick?
They score within a few points of each other: Blue Sky MD at 63/100 and SkinnyRx at 64/100, so neither wins on the headline number. Blue Sky MD is the better fit for north Carolina residents who want a hands-on medical program with labs, weekly coaching and in-person visits, and who may be able to use insurance. SkinnyRx suits shoppers who want a tablet as well as an injection on either molecule, and who will get the month-two price in writing before paying. Run the quiz and the weighting shifts to whichever of those matters more to you.
Pricing & state data come from Blue Sky MD's public site and our master provider matrix. The Match Score and its sub-scores are our editorial judgment per the methodology. Commercial facts only — prices change, so confirm on Blue Sky MD's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.
Blue Sky MD is a physician-led weight-loss and hormone practice that has served North Carolina since 2008, with seven clinics and telehealth visits. It is a full medical program rather than a prescription service: you start with a consultation, a 20-plus biomarker lab panel and a measured metabolism, then get weekly one-on-one coaching through its app, with labs repeated as you go. Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are offered alongside brand-name Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound and Mounjaro, and it bills insurance. The catch for price shoppers is that you must enroll in the program to get medication, and the site gives only "as low as" weekly medication figures, not a monthly total or the program fee. It also serves North Carolina only. Bottom line: a strong fit for North Carolinians who want close support and possibly insurance coverage; ask for the full monthly cost before you commit.
Compare with other providers
Five more providers to compare (providers we have a commercial relationship with are listed first), then the 24 programs that sit nearest Blue Sky MD here.
- Match91/ 100CoreAge RxCompounded semaglutide at $99 and tirzepatide at $149 a month, the same price at every dose, with no membership fee and a full refund if the doctor doesn't approve you.91/100
- Match86/ 100EdenCompounded semaglutide at $99 and tirzepatide at $129 a month at every dose, with care, coaching and shipping included, a brand-name Wegovy option, and medication from Eden's own pharmacy network.86/100
- Match81/ 100yourEraA personalized-health brand selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide alongside NAD+, sermorelin and microdosing protocols, with an optional coaching-and-labs bundle, nationwide.81/100
- Match80/ 100HealthRXA LegitScript-certified program selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide on one flat plan price — consult, medication and overnight shipping included — with a full refund if a provider doesn't approve you.80/100
- Match80/ 100ShedRxCompounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as injections, oral drops or lozenges, plus brand-name Wegovy, Zepbound and the Foundayo pill — month to month or cheaper on longer plans.80/100
Compare 24 nearby providersHide them
| Provider | Tirzepatide price | Coverage | Alternatives | Go | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LeanDose | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 17 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| 10rx | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| Factor Health MD | 63 | $99.99/mo | $189.99/mo | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| Rejuve Meds | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| ReadyRx | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| TeleHealth Med | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| Nirwana Health | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | State eligibility depends on provider licensure; complete list not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| FormBlends | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 36 states and territories; address confirmed at assessment | Alternatives | Visit |
| Onyx Weight Loss | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 9 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| AquaVita NextGen | 63 | $215/mo | $320/mo | 5 states (AZ, CA, FL, NV, TX) | Alternatives | Visit |
| Carocare Wellness | 63 | $150/mo (starting dose) | $200/mo (starting dose) | Houston area, Texas | Alternatives | Visit |
| The Calibrate Clinic | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Louisiana only | Alternatives | Visit |
| Joey Med | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states claimed; confirm prescription eligibility | Alternatives | Visit |
| Novi | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| EOS Health | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Eligibility must be confirmed before enrollment | Alternatives | Visit |
| Medivive | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states per main page | Alternatives | Visit |
| Immortals | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| T2D.com | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | State eligibility needs confirmation | Alternatives | Visit |
| PrescribedRX | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Product availability varies by state | Alternatives | Visit |
| Zealthy | 63 | $297/mo | $449/mo | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| Beluga Health | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| TeleWellnessMD | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Eligibility must be confirmed before enrollment | Alternatives | Visit |
| MD Trim Clinic | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Confirm remote eligibility; offices in Arizona and California | Alternatives | Visit |
| AM Rx | 63 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Confirm state and prescription eligibility | Alternatives | Visit |
Blue Sky MD appears on our best brand-name GLP-1 providers board, scored on the same six factors as every other provider there.