Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center review: price, pros & cons
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center is a physician-run clinic in Oakland, Maine, that prices compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide by dose — $225 and $325 a month at the starting doses — with free consultations and no contracts.
- Scores never bought
- 599 providers tracked
- Every factor auditable
Dr.
- Semaglutide
- $225/mo (starting dose)
- Tirzepatide
- $325/mo (starting dose)
- Coverage
- Oakland, Maine clinic plus phone-arranged telehealth
- Brand-name
- Not listed
- Oral option
- Yes
- Verification
- Not independently listed
Best for: People in central Maine who want a local doctor, in-person injection teaching and same-day medication, and are fine paying more as the dose rises.
MatchScript's take: A hands-on local clinic with free visits and published dose prices — but it also sells retatrutide, an unapproved investigational drug, which is a serious mark against it.
The factor breakdown
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center on the six Match Score factors — the same sub-scores the quiz reweights to your priorities. See the methodology.
The starting doses are $225 and $325 a month and rise with every dose step, to $475 and $525, so Budget Fit sits at the low end of its band.
Limited or undisclosed state coverage can slow your start, for a below-par 58 on Speed to Start.
Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as injections and orally dissolving tablets, plus several peptides; no brand-name medication.
Support Level scores 80/100 in our comparison. Confirm who answers clinical questions, how to reach them and whether follow-up visits cost extra.
Flexibility scores 80/100 in our comparison. Check the renewal, cancellation and refund terms before paying; dose changes require a prescriber's approval.
Every dose price is published, but the pharmacy is not named, and the price list includes retatrutide, which is not an approved drug.
Pricing in context
How Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center's monthly price sits against the category median and the cheapest provider we track.
| Monthly price | Semaglutide | Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| Dr. Gillis' Wellness Centerthis providerVisit | $225/mo (starting dose)+$35 vs median | $325/mo (starting dose)+$66 vs median |
| Category median240 tracked | $190/mo | $259/mo |
| Cheapest trackedMondaeVisit | $87/mo | $126/mo |
For a fair comparison, check the full cost of semaglutide or tirzepatide, including care fees, dose changes and the amount due at each renewal.
What we found on their site
Read on Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center's own website in October 2026. Quoted text is theirs.
- The pricing page says of semaglutide "Start Your Journey for Just $200/Month" and of tirzepatide "Starting at $300/ month"; its price-list image shows $225 at 0.25 mg rising to $475 at 2.5 mg, and $325 to $525 for tirzepatide, with "ENJOY A CASH DISCOUNT $25.00 ON ABOVE PRODUCTS".
- The same page offers retatrutide: "Add Retatrutide to your current Semaglutide or Tirzepatide regimen for just $100/month!"
- The FAQ says "All consultations and monthly follow-up appointments are complimentary" and "we offer complimentary telehealth nationwide! Call our office for more information."
What we like
- Run by a named board-certified physician and surgeon, Dr. Gillis, with more than 25 years in gut health and gastrointestinal surgery
- Consultations and monthly follow-ups are free, and there are no long-term contracts
- A full dose-by-dose price list is published for both molecules, with a $25 discount for paying cash
- Medication can be picked up the same day at the clinic, with the first injection taught in the office
- Also sells compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as orally dissolving tablets for people who want to avoid needles
The caveats
- Its own price list sells retatrutide as a $100-to-$200 add-on — an investigational drug that is not FDA-approved for any use and cannot legally be compounded
- Prices climb steeply with dose: semaglutide runs from $225 at the starting dose to $475 at 2.5 mg, and tirzepatide from $325 to $525 at 10 mg
- Mainly an in-person clinic in Oakland, Maine; new-patient enrollment is Wednesday afternoons, and telehealth must be arranged by phone
- The compounding pharmacy is not named, and compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved
- Insurance is not accepted, though HSA and FSA cards are
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center · semaglutide $225/mo (starting dose) · tirzepatide $325/mo (starting dose)Check the current price and eligibility on their site.
Visit Dr. Gillis' Wellness CenterWho it's for — and who should skip it
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center is for people in central Maine who want a local doctor, in-person injection teaching and same-day medication, and are fine paying more as the dose rises.
Skip it if that doesn't sound like you. A closer fit may be Peter MD (Match Score 69) — or take the quiz to see where Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center lands for your priorities.
Before you choose care
What semaglutide costs. Compare medication costs, ongoing fees and prepaid plans before choosing care.
What tirzepatide costs. See how dose, medication type and billing terms affect the total price.
Oral GLP-1s vs. injections. Understand the differences between approved oral medicines, compounded forms and injections.
Compounded vs. brand-name GLP-1s. Learn how approval, evidence and pharmacy oversight differ between these options.
How it compares to CoreAge Rx & the closest scorer
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center against CoreAge Rx and the provider that scores closest to it. Green marks the row leader.
| How it compares | Dr. Gillis' Wellness Centerthis provider | CoreAge Rxfeatured | Peter MDclosest scorer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sema price | $225/mo (starting dose) | $99/mo at every dose | $149/mo starting (first-time tier) |
| Coverage | Oakland, Maine clinic plus phone-arranged telehealth | U.S. only — restrictions vary by state and therapy, list not published | 46 states for semaglutide (not AL, ID, AK or HI); tirzepatide excludes AL and ID |
| Formulary | Injectable + oral | Injectable | Injectable |
| Match Score | 69 · C | 91 · A− | 69 · C |
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center, answered
Is Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center legit?
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center is a real, operating GLP-1 telehealth program. LegitScript certification is the third-party check worth asking for — look for the seal on their site and confirm your prescriber is US-licensed at intake. Like most programs here it dispenses compounded GLP-1s, which are made by a licensed pharmacy but aren't FDA-approved.
How much does Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center cost?
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center lists compounded semaglutide from $225/mo (starting dose) and tirzepatide from $325/mo (starting dose) — above our category median of $190/mo. These are the provider's public figures at our last review; confirm on their site, since some teaser tiers step up after month one.
Does Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center ship to my state?
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center doesn't publish a full state list, so confirm your state is covered during intake before you pay.
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center vs Peter MD — which should I pick?
They score within a few points of each other: Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center at 69/100 and Peter MD at 69/100, so neither wins on the headline number. Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center is the better fit for people in central Maine who want a local doctor, in-person injection teaching and same-day medication, and are fine paying more as the dose rises. Peter MD suits men who want weight-loss treatment on the same account as testosterone, longevity or lab testing, and who are comfortable paying for roughly three months at a time. Run the quiz and the weighting shifts to whichever of those matters more to you.
Pricing & state data come from Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center's public site and our master provider matrix. The Match Score and its sub-scores are our editorial judgment per the methodology. Commercial facts only — prices change, so confirm on Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center is a doctor-run clinic in Oakland, Maine, offering compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as injections or dissolving tablets, alongside a long menu of peptides and other treatments. It publishes a full price list by dose: semaglutide starts at $225 a month and tirzepatide at $325, less $25 if you pay cash, and both climb as the dose goes up, to $475 and $525. Consultations and monthly follow-ups are free, there are no contracts, and you can leave the first visit with medication. The serious concern is retatrutide: the clinic sells it as an add-on, yet it is an investigational drug that is not FDA-approved and cannot legally be compounded. It is also chiefly an in-person practice. Bottom line: a personal local option for central Maine, but skip the retatrutide.
Compare with other providers
Five more providers to compare (providers we have a commercial relationship with are listed first), then the 24 programs that sit nearest Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center here.
- Match91/ 100CoreAge RxCompounded semaglutide at $99 and tirzepatide at $149 a month, the same price at every dose, with no membership fee and a full refund if the doctor doesn't approve you.91/100
- Match86/ 100EdenCompounded semaglutide at $99 and tirzepatide at $129 a month at every dose, with care, coaching and shipping included, a brand-name Wegovy option, and medication from Eden's own pharmacy network.86/100
- Match81/ 100yourEraA personalized-health brand selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide alongside NAD+, sermorelin and microdosing protocols, with an optional coaching-and-labs bundle, nationwide.81/100
- Match80/ 100HealthRXA LegitScript-certified program selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide on one flat plan price — consult, medication and overnight shipping included — with a full refund if a provider doesn't approve you.80/100
- Match80/ 100ShedRxCompounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as injections, oral drops or lozenges, plus brand-name Wegovy, Zepbound and the Foundayo pill — month to month or cheaper on longer plans.80/100
Compare 24 nearby providersHide them
| Provider | Tirzepatide price | Coverage | Alternatives | Go | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Levity | Historical69 | Not offered | Not offered | Subscription service closed; no new or repeat orders | Alternatives | Archive |
| Alternate Health Club | 69 | $129/mo | $169/mo | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| RestorLife Med | 69 | $299/mo | $399/mo | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| LIV by WellNow | 69 | $195/mo | $295/mo | 5 states (IL, IN, MI, NY, PA) | Alternatives | Visit |
| Regenics | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| LevelsRx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states advertised; clinician licensing applies | Alternatives | Visit |
| YourHealthRx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states (not D.C.; some injectables not in California) | Alternatives | Visit |
| Heva Health | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Full-Service: 12 states; Direct Access: nationwide | Alternatives | Visit |
| Tuyo Health | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Confirm medication-specific state eligibility | Alternatives | Visit |
| BloomWell Rx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Nationwide; confirm your state | Alternatives | Visit |
| Levers Health | 69 | $247/mo (starting dose) | Not disclosed | 28 states for semaglutide; 27 for tirzepatide | Alternatives | Visit |
| Liberty | 69 | $129/mo | $219/mo | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| Nucore Health | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| The Aesthetic Concierge | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 18 states listed; confirm your location | Alternatives | Visit |
| BeyondMD | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Most states; confirm treatment-specific eligibility | Alternatives | Visit |
| Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) | 69 | $149/mo | $239/mo | All 50 states claimed; medication options vary | Alternatives | Visit |
| VitaFusions IV | 69 | $149/mo | $189/mo | Texas only | Alternatives | Visit |
| Lemonaid Health | 69 | $348/mo | $348/mo | Not yet available in all 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| Shapely | 69 | $238/mo (starting dose) | $348/mo (starting dose) | California, Florida, New York and Texas | Alternatives | Visit |
| Ascend Medical | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Georgia and Texas | Alternatives | Visit |
| Next Vial | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 49 states; Alaska excluded | Alternatives | Visit |
| Heros Health | 69 | $149/mo | $198/mo | All 50 states per treatment page; individual eligibility applies | Alternatives | Visit |
| LevelUp Rx | 69 | $149.97/mo | $249.97/mo | State eligibility confirmed through provider review | Alternatives | Visit |
| Ascend Vitality | 69 | $199/mo | $249/mo | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center appears on our best semaglutide providers, best tirzepatide providers, best GLP-1 programs and best oral GLP-1 providers boards, scored on the same six factors as every other provider there.