MDLive review: price, pros & cons
MD Live offers branded anti-obesity prescriptions through eligible Primary Care Routine Care visits, with ongoing primary care and pharmacy choice; access and costs depend on participating health-plan benefits.
- Scores never bought
- 599 providers tracked
- Every factor auditable
MD Live is a practical option for eligible members seeking weight-management discussion within continuing primary care.
- Semaglutide
- Not disclosed
- Tirzepatide
- Not disclosed
- Coverage
- Anti-obesity prescriptions excluded in FL, LA, MS and NJ; plan eligibility required
- Brand-name
- Yes
- Oral option
- Not listed
- Verification
- Not independently listed
Best for: Adults whose health plan includes MD Live Primary Care and who want a continuing doctor relationship rather than a stand-alone medication subscription.
MatchScript's take: A useful benefits-based primary care route when you qualify, book Routine Care and confirm separate prescription coverage.
The factor breakdown
MDLive on the six Match Score factors — the same sub-scores the quiz reweights to your priorities. See the methodology.
Visit copays and pharmacy benefits vary, with no unconditional medicine-inclusive monthly total.
Plan eligibility, the correct appointment type and four-state prescribing exclusions determine access.
Wegovy, Zepbound and Saxenda are expressly listed; no oral GLP-1 or compounded pathway is established here.
Same-doctor continuity, laboratory coordination, referrals and conditional digital coaching provide a broad care model.
Patients can change doctors; routine-care cancellations within two hours may incur a fee, subject to exceptions.
Appointment and state restrictions are explicit, while the patient’s own benefit and pharmacy determine the actual bill.
Pricing in context
How MDLive's monthly price sits against the category median and the cheapest provider we track.
| Monthly price | Semaglutide | Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| MDLivethis providerVisit | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Category median240 tracked | $190/mo | $259/mo |
| Cheapest trackedMondaeVisit | $87/mo | $126/mo |
For a fair comparison, check the full cost of semaglutide or tirzepatide, including care fees, dose changes and the amount due at each renewal.
What we found on their site
Read on MDLive's own website in October 2026. Quoted text is theirs.
- The Primary Care page states "Primary Care is only available through select health insurance plans." Check the specific benefit first.
- The prescribing restriction requires a "Primary Care Routine Care visit"; a wellness screening or urgent-care appointment cannot replace it.
What we like
- Patients can select a primary care doctor, return to the same clinician and request records be shared with an existing local doctor.
- Routine care can include appropriate prescriptions, laboratory orders and specialist referrals, connecting weight management with other ongoing health needs.
- The published prescribing policy specifically identifies Wegovy, Zepbound and Saxenda rather than implying every visit can provide any medication.
- Eligible chronic-care patients may receive digital coaching with tracking and reminders, while the patient portal also supports recording basic health measurements.
The caveats
- Primary Care is available only through selected health plans; access to another MD Live service does not establish eligibility for this program.
- Anti-obesity prescribing is excluded in Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and New Jersey and remains at the doctor’s discretion elsewhere.
- GLP-1 consideration requires a Primary Care Routine Care visit; urgent care and wellness-screening appointments cannot provide these prescriptions.
- The advertised possible zero-dollar copay is a plan-dependent visit cost, not a guaranteed medicine-inclusive monthly price.
- Late routine-care cancellation can carry a $25 fee within two hours, with policy exceptions including Medicare and Medicaid members.
MDLiveCheck the current price and eligibility on their site.
Visit MDLiveWho it's for — and who should skip it
MDLive is for adults whose health plan includes MD Live Primary Care and who want a continuing doctor relationship rather than a stand-alone medication subscription.
Skip it if that doesn't sound like you. A closer fit may be Bodybuilding Health+ (Match Score 71) — or take the quiz to see where MDLive lands for your priorities.
Before you choose care
What semaglutide costs. Compare medication costs, ongoing fees and prepaid plans before choosing care.
What tirzepatide costs. See how dose, medication type and billing terms affect the total price.
Insurance and GLP-1 coverage. Check benefits, prior authorization and medication costs separately from care fees.
Compounded vs. brand-name GLP-1s. Learn how approval, evidence and pharmacy oversight differ between these options.
How it compares to CoreAge Rx & the closest scorer
MDLive against CoreAge Rx and the provider that scores closest to it. Green marks the row leader.
| How it compares | MDLivethis provider | CoreAge Rxfeatured | Primary Clinicclosest scorer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sema price | Not disclosed | $99/mo at every dose | $174/mo (starting dose, all-in with the membership) |
| Coverage | Anti-obesity prescriptions excluded in FL, LA, MS and NJ; plan eligibility required | U.S. only — restrictions vary by state and therapy, list not published | 17 states + DC: AZ, CO, FL, GA, IA, ID, KS, MT, NE, NM, NV, NY, OK, OR, UT, VA, WA |
| Formulary | Injectable + brand | Injectable | Injectable |
| Match Score | 70 · C | 91 · A− | 70 · C |
MDLive, answered
Can MD Live urgent care prescribe a weight-loss GLP-1?
Its policy limits anti-obesity prescriptions to Primary Care Routine Care visits, at the doctor’s discretion.
Where does MD Live exclude anti-obesity prescriptions?
The published policy excludes Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and New Jersey. Primary Care plan eligibility must also be confirmed.
Pricing & state data come from MDLive's public site and our master provider matrix. The Match Score and its sub-scores are our editorial judgment per the methodology. Commercial facts only — prices change, so confirm on MDLive's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.
MD Live is a practical option for eligible members seeking weight-management discussion within continuing primary care. The important first step is checking that the health plan includes Primary Care, because other MD Live access does not establish that benefit. Anti-obesity medicines are considered only during Routine Care visits, and four states are excluded from that prescribing pathway. Visit copays and pharmacy costs depend on benefits, so there is no single all-in monthly GLP-1 price. The same-doctor option, laboratory coordination and specialist referrals may suit someone managing several health needs. Confirm the correct appointment type, prescription coverage and pharmacy before booking, and review the routine-care cancellation deadline if plans change.
Compare with other providers
Five more providers to compare (providers we have a commercial relationship with are listed first), then the 24 programs that sit nearest MDLive here.
- Match91/ 100CoreAge RxCompounded semaglutide at $99 and tirzepatide at $149 a month, the same price at every dose, with no membership fee and a full refund if the doctor doesn't approve you.91/100
- Match86/ 100EdenCompounded semaglutide at $99 and tirzepatide at $129 a month at every dose, with care, coaching and shipping included, a brand-name Wegovy option, and medication from Eden's own pharmacy network.86/100
- Match81/ 100yourEraA personalized-health brand selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide alongside NAD+, sermorelin and microdosing protocols, with an optional coaching-and-labs bundle, nationwide.81/100
- Match80/ 100HealthRXA LegitScript-certified program selling compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide on one flat plan price — consult, medication and overnight shipping included — with a full refund if a provider doesn't approve you.80/100
- Match80/ 100ShedRxCompounded semaglutide and tirzepatide as injections, oral drops or lozenges, plus brand-name Wegovy, Zepbound and the Foundayo pill — month to month or cheaper on longer plans.80/100
Compare 24 nearby providersHide them
| Provider | Tirzepatide price | Coverage | Alternatives | Go | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eclipse Medical Wellness | 70 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Colorado | Alternatives | Visit |
| Tablet Health | 70 | $139.99/mo | $199.99/mo | Confirm state and product eligibility | Alternatives | Visit |
| Goldspan Health | 70 | $248/mo | $324/mo | All 50 states plus Washington, D.C. | Alternatives | Visit |
| BloomMD | 70 | $275/mo | $249/mo | Restrictions vary by treatment — not fully disclosed | Alternatives | Visit |
| KIN Health | 70 | $169/mo | $199/mo (starting dose) | GLP-1 excludes California, Louisiana, Minnesota and Mississippi; confirm treatment eligibility | Alternatives | Visit |
| Rx.com | 70 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 49 states (not Alaska) | Alternatives | Visit |
| MyDrHank | 67 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not published on the site | Alternatives | Visit |
| BetterMe Rx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| Care Bare Rx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states plus Puerto Rico | Alternatives | Visit |
| Synergy Rx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states (its terms ask you to contact support for the current list) | Alternatives | Visit |
| Fitness RX | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states and Washington, D.C. | Alternatives | Visit |
| FitRx | 69 | $297/mo (Doctor + GLP-1 bundle) | $449/mo (Doctor + GLP-1 bundle) | All 50 states + DC | Alternatives | Visit |
| Loop Health | 69 | $199/mo | $299/mo | 44 states (list not published) | Alternatives | Visit |
| Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center | 69 | $225/mo (starting dose) | $325/mo (starting dose) | Oakland, Maine clinic plus phone-arranged telehealth | Alternatives | Visit |
| Levity | Historical69 | Not offered | Not offered | Subscription service closed; no new or repeat orders | Alternatives | Archive |
| Alternate Health Club | 69 | $129/mo | $169/mo | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| RestorLife Med | 69 | $299/mo | $399/mo | All 50 states | Alternatives | Visit |
| LIV by WellNow | 69 | $195/mo | $295/mo | 5 states (IL, IN, MI, NY, PA) | Alternatives | Visit |
| Regenics | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Coverage not published | Alternatives | Visit |
| LevelsRx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states advertised; clinician licensing applies | Alternatives | Visit |
| YourHealthRx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | All 50 states (not D.C.; some injectables not in California) | Alternatives | Visit |
| Heva Health | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Full-Service: 12 states; Direct Access: nationwide | Alternatives | Visit |
| Tuyo Health | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Confirm medication-specific state eligibility | Alternatives | Visit |
| BloomWell Rx | 69 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Nationwide; confirm your state | Alternatives | Visit |
MDLive appears on our best brand-name GLP-1 providers board, scored on the same six factors as every other provider there.