Skip to content
MatchScript
Menu
Match Score 78 · Grade C

Sesame Care review: price, pros & cons

By MatchScript EditorialUpdated

A brand-name-only program where you choose your own clinician: care is a monthly subscription and FDA-approved medication — from $149 a month — is billed separately.

Visit Sesame Care Or see your best match We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Partners appear first on most boards; commissions never change Match Scores. Read our disclosure.

Sesame works differently from a compounding program.

Semaglutide
$149/mo brand Wegovy pill
Tirzepatide
$299/mo brand Zepbound vial
Coverage
Not disclosed
Brand-name
Yes
Oral option
Yes
Verification
LegitScript-certified

Best for: People who want FDA-approved Wegovy, Zepbound or Foundayo rather than a compounded version, and who want to pick their own clinician.

MatchScript's take: FDA-approved drugs and a clinician you pick — but care and medication are two separate bills.

The factor breakdown

Sesame Care on the six Match Score factors — the same sub-scores the quiz reweights to your priorities. See the methodology.

Budget Fit62/100

Medication starts at $149 a month, but the care subscription is billed on top — $99 every 28 days month to month — so Budget Fit is 62, below the anchor for that price.

Speed to Start70/100

Limited or undisclosed state coverage can slow your start, for a below-par 70 on Speed to Start.

Formulary Match95/100

Wegovy pill and injections, Zepbound vials and pens, and the Foundayo pill give a 95 for breadth of FDA-approved options; there is no compounded lane.

Support Level90/100

Support Level scores 90/100 in our comparison. Confirm who answers clinical questions, how to reach them and whether follow-up visits cost extra.

Flexibility72/100

The month-to-month plan can be self-canceled, but the low care rate needs 12 months and first-month refunds end at the first visit, so Flexibility is 72.

Transparency84/100

LegitScript certification and clear public disclosures put Transparency at a solid 84.

Pricing in context

How Sesame Care's monthly price sits against the category median and the cheapest provider we track.

Monthly priceSemaglutideTirzepatide
Sesame Carethis providerVisit $149/mo brand Wegovy pill−$41 vs median$299/mo brand Zepbound vial+$40 vs median
Category median240 tracked$190/mo$259/mo
Cheapest trackedMondaeVisit $87/mo$126/mo

For a fair comparison, check the full cost of semaglutide or tirzepatide, including care fees, dose changes and the amount due at each renewal.

What we found on their site

Read on Sesame Care's own website in October 2026. Quoted text is theirs.

  • The page headline prices care at "$59 /mo* for care" with "+ medication from $149/mo (paid separately)", and the asterisk reads "*Based on a 12-month Success by Sesame commitment".
  • The FAQ lists "Month-to-Month Plan: Billed every month at $99 per month" and, under billing, "Month-to-Month Plan: Billed every 28 days".
  • The Foundayo offer lists "0.8 mg: $149", "5.5 mg: $199, previously $299" and "9 mg: $299", valid through December 31, 2026; the refund policy gives a full refund only if you "cancel at least 3 hours prior to your initial visit start time".

What we like

  • You choose a named provider and keep them, with video visits, unlimited chat and labs included in the subscription
  • FDA-approved options only: the Wegovy pill and Wegovy injections from $149 a month, Zepbound vials and KwikPens from $299, and the Foundayo pill from $149
  • Prescriptions can go to your own local pharmacy for same-day pickup or be delivered
  • If you have insurance, your provider handles the prior-authorization paperwork for the medication

The caveats

  • Two charges, not one: medication is billed on top of a care subscription that is $59 a month only on a 12-month plan, or $99 billed every 28 days month to month
  • Medication prices depend on dose — Foundayo runs $149 at the lowest doses up to $349 at the highest, and the Zepbound pen is listed from $1,086
  • Several of the lower medication prices are manufacturer promotions with end dates of December 31, 2026
  • Refunds are narrow: a full refund only if you cancel at least 3 hours before the first visit, and none once it has happened
  • No compounded option, and which states you can be seen in depends on which clinicians are licensed there

Sesame Care · semaglutide $149/mo brand Wegovy pill · tirzepatide $299/mo brand Zepbound vialCheck the current price and eligibility on their site.

Visit Sesame Care

Who it's for — and who should skip it

Sesame Care is for people who want FDA-approved Wegovy, Zepbound or Foundayo rather than a compounded version, and who want to pick their own clinician.

Skip it if that doesn't sound like you. A closer fit may be Sprout Health (Match Score 78) — or take the quiz to see where Sesame Care lands for your priorities.

See every alternative to Sesame Care.

Before you choose care

What semaglutide costs. Compare medication costs, ongoing fees and prepaid plans before choosing care.

What tirzepatide costs. See how dose, medication type and billing terms affect the total price.

Oral GLP-1s vs. injections. Understand the differences between approved oral medicines, compounded forms and injections.

Insurance and GLP-1 coverage. Check benefits, prior authorization and medication costs separately from care fees.

How it compares to CoreAge Rx & the closest scorer

Sesame Care against CoreAge Rx and the provider that scores closest to it. Green marks the row leader.

How it comparesSesame Carethis providerCoreAge RxfeaturedSprout Healthclosest scorer
Sema price$149/mo brand Wegovy pill$99/mo at every dose$161/mo
CoverageNot disclosedU.S. only — restrictions vary by state and therapy, list not published44 states — list not disclosed
FormularyInjectable + oral + brandInjectableInjectable
Match Score78 · C91 · A−78 · C

Sesame Care, answered

Is Sesame Care legit?

Yes. Sesame Care is LegitScript-certified, and its weight-loss program prescribes only FDA-approved brand-name medication — Wegovy, Zepbound and Foundayo — rather than compounded versions. You choose a named clinician and confirm they are licensed in your state before booking.

How much does Sesame Care cost?

Two separate charges. The Success by Sesame care subscription is $59 a month on a 12-month commitment, or $99 billed every 28 days month to month. Medication is billed on top: the Wegovy pill and Foundayo start at $149 a month and Zepbound vials at $299, and prices rise with the dose.

Does Sesame Care serve my state?

It depends on which of its clinicians are licensed where you live. Sesame does not publish a state list for the weight-loss program, so check provider availability for your state before you sign up.

Can I get a refund from Sesame Care?

Only before your first visit: its policy gives a full refund if you cancel at least 3 hours before the initial visit, and no refund for the first month once the visit has happened. You can cancel the subscription yourself before the next billing cycle.

Pricing & state data come from Sesame Care's public site and our master provider matrix. The Match Score and its sub-scores are our editorial judgment per the methodology. Commercial facts only — prices change, so confirm on Sesame Care's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

Verdict · Grade C · 78/100

Sesame works differently from a compounding program. You pay a Success by Sesame subscription for care — $59 a month on a 12-month commitment, or $99 billed every 28 days month to month — and you choose your own clinician, with video visits, chat and labs included. Medication is billed separately at cash prices: the Wegovy pill and Wegovy injections from $149, Zepbound vials from $299, and the Foundayo pill from $149, rising with the dose. Your prescription can go to a local pharmacy for same-day pickup. The trade-offs are cost and terms: two bills instead of one, several of the lower drug prices are manufacturer promotions that run through 2026, and refunds end once the first visit happens. There is no compounded option. If you want an FDA-approved drug and a clinician you picked, Sesame fits; if you want one all-in price, look elsewhere.

Compare with other providers

Five more providers to compare (providers we have a commercial relationship with are listed first), then the 24 programs that sit nearest Sesame Care here.

Compare 24 nearby providers
ProviderGo
Pallas Health80Visit
Heally80Visit
Found77Visit
Ondra Health79Visit
Mochi Health79Visit
GOAL.MD79Visit
GoodRx79Visit
Rylo Health79Visit
Ivologist79Visit
Healthicare79Visit
Luvo Health76Visit
EverSlim78Visit
Idgie Health78Visit
MadeMed75Visit
Trimi77Visit
Belle Health77Visit
Amazon One Medical77Visit
Bionomy Health77Visit
PlexusDx77Visit
NextMeds77Visit
Zappy Health77Visit
Bodi Envi77Visit
Measured77Visit
OurView Health77Visit

Sesame Care appears on our best semaglutide providers, best tirzepatide providers, best GLP-1 programs, best brand-name GLP-1 providers and best oral GLP-1 providers boards, scored on the same six factors as every other provider there.

← Back to all rankings